I'm ready for my new family!

Hi! My Name Is Vanessa

I'm Available

Hi there, my name is Vanessa and I'm about 8 months old.  I'm a really pretty young gal.  If you have seen my pictures my coat is a reversed brindle.  My Rescuers are guessing at my breed because sadly when I was found as a stray, I had no history about me.  So if you had to guess my breeding I'm a Cattle dog maybe mixed with Pitbull.  What does that mean?  I'm your All-American Mutt but I'm a smart All-American Mutt.

As I mentioned I was found as a stray.  I didn't know where my home was so the AC Handlers brought me to a TN shelter.  From there, I went on a van that they call the Freedom Ride.  It's where a bunch of doggies and kitties drive for like forever up North.  I saw my foster Mom when she opened the van, and I wasn't scared.  I knew right then I my future is going to be much better than what I had in TN.

I'm in a foster home that has other foster dogs that are close to my age or size, and we play all day long.  We sleep in our own crates and I'm a good girl and don't make a mess.  I will give out a yip or a bark when I need to go potty.  I love getting my food in my crate and I look for more when the other dogs are done.  Who would have thought being a foster doggie I would be so pampered.

Speaking of being pampered, my foster Mom took me to the doggie vet and I woo-ed everyone.  They thought I had a really pretty coat and they thought I was silly when I gave them kisses or did tricks for my treats.  I know SIT and give PAW.  My best command is "Vanessa, be pretty".  Gees, that's a no brainer.  I had to take a test that my doggie vet did for me and sadly the test results said I'm heartworm positive.  My foster Mom said, "it's not our first time" and she's prepared to make sure I am taken care of, and I will find the best home for me.  There's more information on my heart worm status below.

I get to play with all the doggies here and there's cats too.  I ignore the cats.  I watch the other dogs get into their food or litterbox but not me - I rather play with dogs or my own toys.  I love playing with a ball or a stuffed animal.  I don't think I had any of those great toys when I lived in TN.  I've been around kids and oh boy, do I like them.  

Know what else I didn't have in TN - snow.  What is with this white stuff?  I love to put my muzzle into the snow, and I look silly.  I don't mind the cold.  My foster Mom put a sweater on me because she thought I would be cold - you know, being a Southern Gal but I don't mind the cold.

One day I am going to have a forever family of my own.  While I wait for my family I will play with the other dogs and learn new things.  I'm sure I'm going to get cuter.  I weigh 29# now so I might grow up to be a medium-large size girl.  Some might call that stocky. 

When I meet my forever family we can go for a walk, and I will show how well I listen and walk on a leash.  Maybe when you bring me to your house, I will have my own doggie bed, or I can curl up on your lap when you watch TV.  I will always be your loyal pup because you chose me and I promise to make you laugh.

Can't wait to meet you!

Vanessa

Vanessa's heartworm:  One, it is not contagious to other dogs, cats or Humans.  Dogs get infected by a mosquito when they are not taking heart worm preventions.  Vanessa will need to be given heart worm preventions for the rest of her life to avoid being inflicted again.

Treatment involves: 28 days of Doxycycline and then 3 scheduled imiticide injections by a licensed vet.  When Vanessa gets adopted, Treasured Animal Rescue will cover all of the heart worm treatment provided you go to one our rescue affiliated veterinarian clinics.  Any questions regarding Vanessa's heart worm please send an email to:  info@treasuredanimalrescueinc.org  

Please do not stop Vanessa's heartworm prognosis stop you from adopting this amazing Beauty.  

Itsy is located in our foster home in Aurora.  To meet Itsy, please complete an adoption application at:  https://treasuredanimalrescueinc.org/application-dog-adoption/

Sorry, Treasured Animal Rescue does not adopt out of the State of Illinois

Thank you for choosing to adopt!

  • Cattle Dog & Dad Is the Milkman
  • Female
  • Puppy (6 - 12 Months)My DoB is 07/17/2023 (Estimated)
  • 21 - 30 Pounds
  • Black & Brindle
  • Affectionate
  • I Like All Kids
  • I Like All Dogs
  • I Like All Cats
  • Not Tested With Small Animals
  • I Have Not Been Tested with Farm Animals
  • I'm Trained
  • $400.00
Special Needs (Medical)
Heartworm Positive
Apply To Adopt Vanessa
DONATE NOW       Help us take care of Vanessa

  Sign Up For Our Newsletter

Please sign up for our newsletter for animal related tips and tricks and to get updates on our animals & events!

X